Impossibly Vegan: Burger King’s Plantbased Whopper is Cooked With Meat

Impossible Whopper
© Burger King/Impossible Foods

The Burger King /Impossible Food collaboration, the Impossible Whopper, was rolled out nationwide across the US this week. The patty is described in BK publicity as “100% Whopper, 0% Beef” – however, the BK’s website small print mentions it is “flame-grilled in the same broiler used for beef and chicken.”

The patty has not been explicitly advertised as vegetarian or vegan, however the terms “0% beef”’ and “made from plants” might be construed as misleading, since the burgers are in fact cooked in the same fat as animal flesh.

The Impossible Whopper has not been explicitly advertised as vegetarian or vegan, however the terms “0% beef”’ and “made from plants” might be construed as misleading by some, since the burgers are in fact cooked in the same fat as animal flesh, which most followers of plantbased diets specifically choose to avoid. Essentially, the burger is not therefore 0% beef.

According to the Independent, the fast food giant faced similar criticism recently after customers found out the vegetarian halloumi burger is also cooked along with the flesh of chicken and fish.